Skip to content

Lent is Hard

March 5, 2013

It seems to happen every year. It feels like walking through sludge, or standing in quick sand. The air feels thicker and seems brown to me. My shoulders bow forward from the weight of it.

Sludge

Outwardly, I could blame it on my allergies which leave my eyes and nose red. I could blame it on the bout with strep my daughter experienced last week. I could blame it on the busyness of this season in ministry.

But that isn’t it.

I just feel off. I suppose you could name it a slump or a funk.

Let’s go with  funk. It feels more awkward to say and that suits this feeling.

This is my fourth year of formally observing Lent. (I’m not from a liturgical background so this is a new discipline for me.)  And this is the fourth time, around week 3 of Lent that the funk has hit. My journals affirm this hunch.

I’ve tried to shop my way out of it. I’ve tried to schedule my way out of it. I’ve tried to work my way out of it. I’ve tried to eat my way out of it. I’ve tried to sunbathe myself out of it (don’t judge! Vitamin D deficiency is real!). I’ve even tried to diet my way out of it.

The truth is, in my experience, the funk is just part of this season of Lent.

After nearly 3 weeks of asking the same question in prayer, “Where am I resisting you God?” I am ready to move on. I find myself bored with this question and the answers that have surfaced feel like some real work to do. I am ready to do the work now. Can’t we just move on the work, God?

But for some reason, Lent is still here and I have committed to asking this question until Easter. And so, I sit with this funk. I try to tell God that I think it is time to move on because I am bored. I try to describe the funk in my prayers, color and feel. In fact, I was pontificating in my prayer this weekend about the feeling of the funk and how I despised the funk when a horrible idea hit me: what if the funk is part of the invitation of Lent?

EEEWWWW. I don’t like that.

The longer I sit with the funk, I become aware that all of these places where I have been resisting God are protecting difficult places in me. I don’t want to open those up for a reason; it will hurt! And still, even in that admission, I assume that I will be doing the opening up; on my own schedule and at my own pace because it is all about me, really.

Lent is hard because it asks me to admit that I am helpless. I am needy. I am broken and lost. And I cannot fix myself.

I cannot pull myself from this funk. I cannot force myself to stop resisting God. I cannot.

Lent asks me to sit with this admission of helplessness for 40 full days: to feel the despair of separation and know that it outside of my power to fix it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2013 9:35 am

    Reblogged this on St. Val the Eccentric and commented:
    Yes, Lent has a speedbump…a funky speedbump.

  2. Nancy Ulrich permalink
    March 6, 2013 9:18 am

    I read your blog yesterday. I was doing my Bible reading today in Leviticus (yes, you have to go there if you’ve committed to reading through the Bible:) In Ch. 26: 34-35, he says that after their enemies have taken over, the land will lie desolate. ..then “at that time the land will rest and make up for its Sabbaths. As long as it lies desolate, it will have the rest it did not have during your Sabbaths when you lived there.” So, in this case, desolation results in rest. We live in a “git er done” mentality whether it’s our chores or our spiritual quests.Maybe God just wants us to rest and we can’t really hear him until we get to places of desolation.

  3. March 6, 2013 1:48 pm

    This whole season is so tough. This year my little spiritual community has thrown ourselves into the liturgical year & are blogging through our experiences. I have loved the celebrations of Advent & Epiphany. Lent has not been a celebration, but an awakening. (http://sacredmargins.com/2013/02/19/interrupted-nights-found-identities/)
    “Lent is hard because it asks me to admit that I am helpless.” What powerful words. This whole season of dying to self, while dreadful at times, makes me crave for resurrection. And not just future, but present resurrection – for healing and help. And tht itself has been the blessing: I cannot fix myself, so I wait patiently for the powerful resurrection of Christ.

    God bless your Lent journey, Rhesa. Resurrection is coming!

Trackbacks

  1. Less Than Loaves and Fishes | The Center for Spiritual Formation

Leave a Reply

Child's Praise

Through the praise of children and infants you have established a stronghold against your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger. Psalm 8:2

God In All Things

Discernment. Attention. Ignatian.

Cara Meredith

Writer, Speaker, Coach

Shauna Niequist

Author of Present Over Perfect, Bread & Wine, Bittersweet, and Cold Tangerines

The Millennial Pastor

An iPhone Pastor for a Typewriter Church

Neo-Restorationists

Following Jesus, Together

The Painted Prayerbook

Artist and author Jan Richardson explores the intersections of word, image, and faith.

April Yamasaki

writing and other acts of faith

ICS at Lipscomb University

Helping people discover the intentional spiritual life

Spiritual Drawing Board

Seeking compassion, deeper understanding, and union with the Divine

Rachel Held Evans - blog

offering spiritual vitality through contemplative prayer and spiritual direction

Sarah Bessey

writer, speaker, recovering-know-it-all

Spiritual Ministries Institute

encouraging ways that open us to the work of the Spirit

The Palmer Perspective

In Search of a Beloved Community

love is what you do

"Love isn't how you feel. It's what you do." --Madeleine L'Engle

The Center for Spiritual Formation

offering spiritual vitality through contemplative prayer and spiritual direction

