Skip to content

Prayer and Action

June 5, 2013

You could consider these last two days as foundation for what I want to say here. If you haven’t yet, look at this post and this one.

Prayer is not an academic exercise. Prayer is a mysterious way of calling ourselves to action. I’ve been considering this phenomenon since this post about the contemplative response to the tragedy of the Boston marathon bombing. There were several emails to me about how slow a response this way would be. How could the world function if people responded this silently? So please, let me clarify.

  • If I am changed by prayer, that change will eventually lead me to take action. However, the action will be born  from the deepest places of my soul; the places where I reflect God most accurately.
  • The actions will be from pure motives, namely from my experience of God. I will have sat in silence through my most base responses so that I can act from holier spaces in myself.
  • I see many actions throughout my day that leave me wondering if prayer could have possibly played any part in the decision to act. Is that judgmental on my part? Maybe. But Jesus assured us that a tree is known by the fruit it bears. If our actions do not speak of the Spirit living in and changing us, what kind of tree are we?
  • At the same time, prayer that never leads to any action is not true prayer.
  • The action that my prayer calls me to is likely to be small, personally challenging, and quiet. In my experience, I have not been called to action that is for the media’s attention. Instead, I’ve been called to love my neighbor by responding with kindness when their fence has been laying on my roses, again. I’ve been called to look for the motivation behind my children’s defiance and to respond with loving firmness instead of anger.

What are the fruits of your prayer? What kind of tree do they mark you as?

One Comment leave one →
  1. soulsisterforchrist permalink
    June 5, 2013 8:08 am

    Wonderful Rhesa! I love your insights. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

Child's Praise

Through the praise of children and infants you have established a stronghold against your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger. Psalm 8:2

God In All Things

Discernment. Attention. Ignatian.

Cara Meredith

Writer, Speaker, Coach

Shauna Niequist

Author of Present Over Perfect, Bread & Wine, Bittersweet, and Cold Tangerines

The Millennial Pastor

An iPhone Pastor for a Typewriter Church

Neo-Restorationists

Following Jesus, Together

The Painted Prayerbook

Artist and author Jan Richardson explores the intersections of word, image, and faith.

April Yamasaki

writing and other acts of faith

ICS at Lipscomb University

Helping people discover the intentional spiritual life

Spiritual Drawing Board

Seeking compassion, deeper understanding, and union with the Divine

Rachel Held Evans - blog

offering spiritual vitality through contemplative prayer and spiritual direction

Sarah Bessey

writer, speaker, recovering-know-it-all

Spiritual Ministries Institute

encouraging ways that open us to the work of the Spirit

The Palmer Perspective

In Search of a Beloved Community

love is what you do

"Love isn't how you feel. It's what you do." --Madeleine L'Engle

The Center for Spiritual Formation

offering spiritual vitality through contemplative prayer and spiritual direction

