Skip to content

Grateful for Marriage

November 25, 2013

“and the two shall become one…”  It is such a mysterious thing. How do 2 become 1? Even I know that is really bad math. Fourteen years ago there were two young, really young, people with dreams and hopes and very little else.

But now, it is hard to know where one one of us ends and the other begins. We are one- this life that we live is our life. It moves in the rhythms that we have established for it. Without one of us, beats are missed and notes are flat.

The me that exists today is a me that has been, and continues to be, shaped by being married to you. And that is a mysterious and wonderful thing.

And what amazes me about it all is that being one grew softly and quietly. I can’t pinpoint a moment that I knew it was happening ~ there are a million insignificant moments that it happened in. ~ from my journal on our 14th wedding anniversary

I am grateful for the journey of marriage that has shaped and changed me. I am grateful for the wonderful man I share life with. I am grateful for walking together through unexpected challenges and joys. I am grateful to live a love that is forming me into a closer reflection of my first love.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Child's Praise

Through the praise of children and infants you have established a stronghold against your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger. Psalm 8:2

God In All Things

Discernment. Attention. Ignatian.

Cara Meredith

Writer, Speaker, Coach

Shauna Niequist

Author of Present Over Perfect, Bread & Wine, Bittersweet, and Cold Tangerines

The Millennial Pastor

An iPhone Pastor for a Typewriter Church

Neo-Restorationists

Following Jesus, Together

The Painted Prayerbook

Artist and author Jan Richardson explores the intersections of word, image, and faith.

April Yamasaki

writing and other acts of faith

ICS at Lipscomb University

Helping people discover the intentional spiritual life

Spiritual Drawing Board

Seeking compassion, deeper understanding, and union with the Divine

Sarah Bessey

writer, speaker, recovering-know-it-all

Spiritual Ministries Institute

encouraging ways that open us to the work of the Spirit

The Palmer Perspective

In Search of a Beloved Community

love is what you do

"Love isn't how you feel. It's what you do." --Madeleine L'Engle

The Center for Spiritual Formation

offering spiritual vitality through contemplative prayer and spiritual direction

