Skip to content

Where I’ve Been

May 22, 2014

Um…wow. So, it’s been a month since I posted anything. That is hard for me to imagine! I haven’t been on an exotic vacation in this month. I haven’t been deathly ill. I have just been really busy!

The last weekend in April, I had the honor of spending time with more than 500 other spiritual directors in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The international conference was a wonderful experience! I loved sharing the research about millennial spirituality with the group and was so encouraged by their responses.  I intend to share more of the research findings here with you soon.

on the road again

May has been super busy with wonderful possibilities and opportunities. First, a group of women in ministry gathered together for a day retreat to dream about what it might be like to covenant together for a year. I am so excited about walking with these women for year of spiritual formation, mentoring, and relationship building. Second, I spent an afternoon with a group of youth ministers here in the Dallas area sharing with them the dream of eleven:28…to care for their spiritual lives. Being able to care for them before they went out and gave their hearts to another intensive summer of on-the-ground ministry was a joy for me. This past weekend, I was able to share the heart of eleven:28 with more than 70 elders, ministers, and their spouses in Georgetown, Texas. They were so supportive of the mission of this ministry and I was so encouraged by their enthusiasm. Finally, this week I had the honor of working with a team of youth ministers in a day retreat setting as they prepared specifically for the challenges of summer. I found the day to be a gift to my journey with God as well as a day of caring for them.

It is my intention to be more present here on the blog over the next month than the last. I want us to talk about the spirituality of play…it seems appropriate for summertime!

What’s going on in your world?

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linda Higgins permalink
    May 23, 2014 12:39 pm

    I’m so proud of your work!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

Child's Praise

Through the praise of children and infants you have established a stronghold against your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger. Psalm 8:2

God In All Things

Discernment. Attention. Ignatian.

Cara Meredith

Writer, Speaker, Coach

Shauna Niequist

Author of Present Over Perfect, Bread & Wine, Bittersweet, and Cold Tangerines

The Millennial Pastor

An iPhone Pastor for a Typewriter Church

Neo-Restorationists

Following Jesus, Together

The Painted Prayerbook

Artist and author Jan Richardson explores the intersections of word, image, and faith.

April Yamasaki

writing and other acts of faith

ICS at Lipscomb University

Helping people discover the intentional spiritual life

Spiritual Drawing Board

Seeking compassion, deeper understanding, and union with the Divine

Rachel Held Evans - blog

offering spiritual vitality through contemplative prayer and spiritual direction

Sarah Bessey

writer, speaker, recovering-know-it-all

Spiritual Ministries Institute

encouraging ways that open us to the work of the Spirit

The Palmer Perspective

In Search of a Beloved Community

love is what you do

"Love isn't how you feel. It's what you do." --Madeleine L'Engle

The Center for Spiritual Formation

offering spiritual vitality through contemplative prayer and spiritual direction

